nombre de la Imagen

Alvar Aalto Medal 2015


Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano winners of
the Alvar Aalto Medal 2015.

The Alvar Aalto Medal 2015 has been awarded on February 3rd, at a ceremony
that took place in the Helsinki City Hall (Finland) to the Spanish architects
Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano, founding partners of Nieto Sobejano
Arquitectos. The Alvar Aalto Medal, established in 1967 honouring Finland’s
most famous architect, recognises creative excellence in the field of architecture
and is conferred by its founders, the Museum of Finnish Architecture, the
Architectural Society of Finland and the Finnish Architects’ Association together
with the Alvar Aalto Foundation and the City of Helsinki. The jury was chaired by
Rainer Mahlamäki and included Juulia Kauste, Simo Freese, Wessel de Jonge
and Dorte Mandrup-Poulsen. The Medal, which was granted for the first time to
Spanish architects, has been awarded so far on eleven occasions. The list of
winners is formed, among others, by James Stirling, Jørn Utzon, Tadao Ando,
Alvaro Siza, Glenn Murcutt and Steven Holl. In the previous edition (2012) the
prize was awarded to Paulo David.